Insights › Rare-earth magnet supply chain atlas › Ningbo Ninggang
China
Ningbo Ninggang
Sintered samarium-cobalt (SmCo) permanent magnets across both the 1:5 and 2:17 alloy grades, including high-energy variants the company markets as achieving 30-33 MGOe (BH)max; the company describes itself as a leading Chinese SmCo producer with the most complete grade lineup in the industry. It also manufactures NdFeB (including bonded NdFeB), AlNiCo, and ferrite magnets and magnet assemblies, and lists applications in motors, aerospace, rail transit, medical devices, and microwave/communications equipment. No public source independently verifies capacity or output for the NdFeB, AlNiCo, or ferrite lines.
At a glance
- Founded
- 1987 — Company marketing materials (company website, made-in-china.com supplier profile, Crunchbase listing) state the business has focused on SmCo magnets 'since 1987.' A business-registry aggregator (36Kr, sourcing what it presents as official company-registration data) instead lists the current legal entity 'Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co., Ltd.' as established March 17, 2003. This may reflect incorporation of the present corporate entity out of an older factory/workshop rather than a change in operating history, but no public source resolves the discrepancy. See conflicts.
- Headquarters
- No. 505 Qiming Road, Yinzhou Investment & Business Incubation Park, Ningbo, Zhejiang, China
- Ownership
- Privately held. A business-registry aggregator (36Kr) lists two shareholders of record: an individual, Dong Jianhong (董建宏), holding approximately 71%, and Hong Kong NGYC Magnetic Ltd. holding approximately 29%. No stock-exchange listing found for this entity.
- Revenue
- Not publicly disclosed. This company does not publish revenue and no named third party has published an estimate of it.
Capacity
Each date below links to the document the figure came from. A capacity figure with no source is not on this page.
| What | Figure | Status | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
| SmCo (samarium-cobalt) magnets, 1:5 and 2:17 grades | over 1,500 tons/year | Operating | Sep 2026 |
| SmCo magnets (conflicting figure from a supplier-directory listing for the same company) | 70 tons/year | Operating | Sep 2026 |
Narrative
Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co., Ltd. (trading as NGYC) is a Zhejiang-based magnet producer that markets itself as a specialist in samarium-cobalt (SmCo) permanent magnets, covering both 1:5 and 2:17 grades, alongside smaller NdFeB, AlNiCo, and ferrite product lines. The company's own materials trace its SmCo focus back to 1987, though the currently registered corporate entity appears (per third-party business-registry data) to date to 2003, a gap that is not explained in any public source found. NGYC operates a facility in Ningbo's Yinzhou district (roughly 25,000 sq m of land, about 31,700 sq m of factory space per company materials) and holds ISO 9001, IATF 16949, and ISO 14001 certifications. The company states it exports a majority of production, primarily to North America, Europe, and Southeast Asia, and lists customers in automotive, rail, aerospace, and communications sectors. Public information on the company is limited to its own marketing materials, B2B supplier-directory listings, and a business-registry aggregator; no independent trade-press, customs, or financial-filing coverage was found, and there is no disclosed, audited revenue figure.
Where public sources disagree
- Founding date: company website, its English-language made-in-china.com profile, and its Crunchbase listing all state the business dates to 1987. A business-registry aggregator (36Kr), however, lists the current legal entity as established March 17, 2003, with named shareholders. Both figures are recorded here; which one describes the operating history versus the legal entity's incorporation is not clarified in any public source.
- SmCo capacity: the company's own website (ngyc.com) states SmCo production capacity as 'over 1,500 tons annually' across several of its own pages, while a made-in-china.com supplier-directory profile for the same company lists SmCo output at '70 tons per year' — roughly a 20x difference. Both figures are self-published by or on behalf of the company and are recorded here without resolution.
- Revenue: one company-website page (magnet-materials.com/about-us.html, English-language) states sales revenue 'exceeds billions of yuan,' while another company-controlled page (ngyc.com/about.html) states annual revenue of 'over 100 million RMB' — figures that differ by roughly an order of magnitude or more and are internally inconsistent. Neither is a reported/audited figure, so revenue is recorded as not publicly disclosed (null) rather than adopting either marketing claim.
- Employee count (not a schema field but noted for completeness): Crunchbase lists company size as 101-250 employees, while the company's own site states 'over 400 employees.'
Sources
- Company profile / About Us — NGYC (Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co., Ltd.) official website (2026-09-18)
- Company Profile | China Magnet Manufacturer | NGYC — magnet-materials.com (NGYC English-language marketing site) (2026-09-18)
- SmCo Magnets product/grade page — NGYC official website (2026-09-18)
- SmCo Magnet Manufacturer, NdFeB Magnets, AlNiCo Magnets Supplier - Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co., Ltd. — made-in-china.com (supplier directory profile) (2026-09-18)
- Permanent Magnets Manufacturer, Smco, Ndfeb Supplier - Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Ltd. — made-in-china.com (supplier showroom profile) (2026-09-18)
- 宁港永磁 | 项目信息 (company registry-derived project profile) — 36Kr (pitchhub.36kr.com) (2026-09-18)
- Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co. - company profile — Crunchbase (2026-09-18)
- Ningbo Ninggang Permanent Magnetic Materials Co.,Ltd. - exhibitor listing — CWIEME Berlin (trade show exhibitor directory) (2026-09-18)
How this page is sourced
Everything here comes from public sources — company filings, annual reports, exchange announcements, government releases and trade press. Every figure is linked to the document it came from and carries the date that document was published, because a capacity number without a date is not a fact, it is a rumor with a decimal point.
What is deliberately absent: material nonpublic information. I have spent more than two decades in this industry and a good deal of what I know about these companies I learned under NDA. Those obligations do not expire and they do not bend for a website. Nothing I have been told in confidence appears here in any form, and nothing on this page — or missing from it — should be read as a signal about what I know privately. I hold NDAs absolutely. It is the reason clients tell me things.
Judgment is the other thing left out on purpose. This page reports what has been published and who published it. Whether a target is credible, whether a ramp will hold, whether a capacity figure survives contact with the plant behind it — that is the work I do for clients, and it does not belong in a free reference page.
Where public sources disagree, I say so rather than picking a winner. Where a figure has not been published, the field says so rather than carrying an estimate. An empty field is information too.
Public filings tell you what a company has said. Whether it holds up is a different question, and the one I get hired to answer.
Get in touch← Back to Ningbo Ninggang in the atlas · the full supply chain atlas