Insights › Rare-earth magnet supply chain atlas › MagREEsource
France
MagREEsource
A French spin-off of CNRS Institut Néel that turns sintered NdFeB magnet scrap into new sintered magnets by hydrogen processing at Noyarey, near Grenoble (stated 50 t/yr), and plans a 1,000 t/yr MagFactory.
Points to check
Facts from the sources on this page that a reader should weigh before relying on the company's own figures.
- No closed financing for MagFactory construction has been announced; Linksium reported in January 2026 that a further raise for the plant was in preparation.
- The Pochet-Chanel partnership (March 26, 2026) and L-Acoustics exclusive partner rights (July 2025) have no disclosed volumes or purchase commitments.
- The May 2026 company deck gives MagFactory output as 500-1,000 t/yr over 2028-2031, later than the 1,000 t/yr by 2028 stated in 2025.
- The SmCo line at Noyarey is described as a pilot line with no stated tonnage.
- The EUR 25M France 2030 state financing for the larger plant was reported by AFP and Magnetics Mag in 2024; it does not appear on the government France 2030 critical metals laureate pages opened.
At a glance
- Founded
- 2020 — Created in October 2020 by Sophie Rivoirard (CNRS researcher at Institut Neel) and Erick Petit as a spin-off of CNRS Institut Neel, incubated by and co-founded with the technology transfer company Linksium, which holds equity. Built on about 25 years of CNRS magnet research in Grenoble.
- Headquarters
- Noyarey (Grenoble area), Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes, France
- Ownership
- Private. Shareholders named in funding announcements include the founders, Linksium, Bpifrance (Fonds SPI 2, France 2030), Finindus (ArcelorMittal and Flanders), Innovacom, BNP Paribas Developpement, C2AD, Fonds Regional Avenir Industrie Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes (UI Investissement), FCPR Impact&Performance, Rhone Dauphine Developpement, Tangent Line, EIT RawMaterials, L-Acoustics, Groupe Pochet (Pochet Participations) and private investors. Stakes not disclosed.
- Stage
- Ramping. Noyarey plant, inaugurated June 2024, makes sintered NdFeB magnets from recycled feed at a stated 50 t/yr with two shifts; the 1,000 t/yr MagFactory is an EU Strategic Project without announced construction financing.
- Listing
- Private.
- Revenue
- Not publicly disclosed. This company does not publish revenue and no named third party has published an estimate of it.
Capacity
Each date below links to the document the figure came from. A capacity figure with no source is not on this page.
| What | Figure | Status | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sintered NdFeB magnets from 100% recycled feed, Noyarey plant | 50 t/yr of magnets (company figure for 2026-2028) | Operating | May 2026 |
| Sintered magnets, Noyarey plant (alternate company figure) | 50-80 t/yr of magnets; 80 t/yr described as a target | Operating | Jul 2025 |
| SmCo magnets, Noyarey pilot line | No tonnage stated | Pilot scale | May 2026 |
| Recycled permanent magnets, MagFactory | 1,000 t/yr target by 2028 (2025-2026 statements); 500-1,000 t/yr over 2028-2031 (May 2026 deck) | Announced | May 2026 |
Narrative
MagREEsource was founded in October 2020 in Grenoble, France, by Sophie Rivoirard and Erick Petit as a spin-off of the CNRS Institut Néel, with the technology transfer company Linksium as a co-founder and shareholder. Its patented process uses hydrogen to break down sintered NdFeB magnet scrap into powder that is made into new sintered magnets ("short-loop hydrogen"), and it is adding a melt-based "short-loop fusion" route to purify recycled material. In January 2023 it announced a EUR 5 million round with Tangent Line, Finindus, EIT RawMaterials and private investors to build a 50 t/yr magnet recycling and production unit, then targeted for the second half of 2023. The plant in Noyarey, Isere, was inaugurated on June 27, 2024 after EUR 8.5 million of investment; AFP reported a capacity of 50 t/yr of sintered magnets and 25 employees. On March 25, 2025 the European Commission listed the company's MagFactory project among its first Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act. In July 2025 MagREEsource raised EUR 23 million in a round led by Bpifrance's Fonds SPI 2 under France 2030, with Finindus, Innovacom, BNP Paribas Developpement and others; L-Acoustics and Groupe Pochet invested as strategic partners, and L-Acoustics received exclusive partner rights for the magnets in professional audio. AFP reported in June 2024 that the larger plant had EUR 25 million of French state aid under the France 2030 critical metals plan. In January 2026 Linksium reported that the company was finalizing a EUR 50 million financing and preparing a further raise for MagFactory. A partnership with Pochet and Chanel was signed on March 26, 2026; its terms are not public. A May 28, 2026 company presentation gives 50 t/yr of NdFeB magnets for 2026 to 2028 at Noyarey, grades up to N42SH from fully recycled feed, a samarium-cobalt pilot line, 55 employees, and a MagFactory target of 500 to 1,000 t/yr in 2028 to 2031. Earlier statements gave 500 t/yr from 2027 and 1,000 t/yr by 2028 or by 2030. No closed financing for MagFactory construction has been announced.
Where public sources disagree
- Noyarey capacity: AFP (June 2024) and the May 2026 FIEEC company deck give 50 t/yr; Silicon Canals and EIT RawMaterials (July 2025) give 50-80 t/yr or a target of 80 t/yr; audioXpress (July 2025) gives 80 t/yr.
- Noyarey start date: EIT RawMaterials (Jan 2023) planned the second half of 2023; AFP reports inauguration June 27, 2024; Magnetics Mag says operational from September 2024; EIT RawMaterials' success story and Silicon Canals say it opened or has operated since December 2024; Magnetics Mag and audioXpress also say it opened in 2023.
- Noyarey floor area after the 2025 extension: Magnetics Mag says 1,500 m2; Recycling Today says 1,600 m2; the May 2026 FIEEC deck gives 2,000 m2 for workshop and lab.
- Seed round size: EIT RawMaterials (Jan 2023) reports EUR 5M; CFNews (July 2025) refers to a EUR 4M seed round at the end of 2022.
- 2028 output: Linksium's January 2026 article gives a 1,000 t/yr MagFactory target but its timeline lists production of 100 t of magnets in 2028 with construction of a new plant.
Sources
- MagREEsource success story — EIT RawMaterials (2025-07-25)
- MagREEsource presentation, FIEEC critical materials webinar — MagREEsource / FIEEC (2026-05-28)
- Noyarey plant inauguration (AFP) — l'Info Durable / AFP (2024-06-27)
- French Tech funding wire: MagREEsource EUR 23M — French Tech Journal (2025-07-26)
- MagREEsource secures EUR 5 million — EIT RawMaterials (2023-01-12)
- MagREEsource accelere avec 50 MEUR et une usine a 1 000 t/an — Linksium (2026-01-07)
- Strategic Projects of the CRMA — IEA policy database (2025-05-05)
- MagREEsource secures EUR 23M — Silicon Canals (2025-07-25)
- L-Acoustics invests in MagREEsource — audioXpress (2025-07-22)
- MagREEsource inaugurates Noyarey facility — Magnetics Magazine
- MagREEsource expansion — Recycling Today
- MagREEsource expands recycled magnets factory — Magnetics Magazine
- Groupe Pochet invests in MagREEsource — Formes de Luxe (2025-07-23)
- Grenoble: une usine pour ne plus dependre de la Chine — L'Essentiel de l'Eco (2026-03-06)
How this page is sourced
Everything here comes from public sources — company filings, annual reports, exchange announcements, government releases and trade press. Every figure is linked to the document it came from and carries the date that document was published, because a capacity number without a date is not a fact, it is a rumor with a decimal point.
What is deliberately absent: material nonpublic information. I have spent more than two decades in this industry and a good deal of what I know about these companies I learned under NDA. Those obligations do not expire and they do not bend for a website. Nothing I have been told in confidence appears here in any form, and nothing on this page — or missing from it — should be read as a signal about what I know privately. I hold NDAs absolutely. It is the reason clients tell me things.
Judgment is the other thing left out on purpose. This page reports what has been published and who published it. Whether a target is credible, whether a ramp will hold, whether a capacity figure survives contact with the plant behind it — that is the work I do for clients, and it does not belong in a free reference page.
Where public sources disagree, I say so rather than picking a winner. Where a figure has not been published, the field says so rather than carrying an estimate. An empty field is information too.
Public filings tell you what a company has said. Whether it holds up is a different question, and the one I get hired to answer.
Get in touch← Back to MagREEsource in the atlas · the full supply chain atlas