Insights › Rare-earth magnet supply chain atlas › Chemours (monazite)
United States
Chemours (monazite)
A US chemicals company whose titanium mineral sands operations in Florida and Georgia produce monazite, sold to Energy Fuels; it says it is the only domestic monazite producer and has no rare earth processing plan.
Points to check
Facts from the sources on this page that a reader should weigh before relying on the company's own figures.
- Chemours does not disclose monazite tonnage, grade, price, buyers or revenue. Monazite is grouped with zircon and staurolite as co-products that were under 5% of Titanium Technologies net sales in 2025 (FY2025 10-K).
- The Dec 2020 Energy Fuels supply agreement had a three-year term. Neither party has announced an extension or a new agreement, although Energy Fuels described an 'existing agreement' in Aug 2026 (secondary transcript).
- The Mar 2025 Chemours–Energy Fuels 'strategic alliance' release gives no terms, quantities, timeline or statement that definitive agreements were signed.
- Chemours restructured its mining in Jan 2026. It temporarily idled a North Florida mine, moved earth-moving to contractors, and guided Q1 2026 mineral sales down 60% sequentially (Q4 2025 call, 20 Feb 2026).
- Chemours reported total Chemours stockholders' equity of $(49)M at 30 Jun 2026 and said it is evaluating portfolio options, including asset sales (Q2 2026 10-Q via Stock Titan; Q2 2026 call, 5 Aug 2026).
At a glance
- Founded
- 2015 — Spun off from DuPont as an independent, publicly traded company on 1 Jul 2015. Its Florida mineral sands mining dates to 1949. In 2019 it expanded into Georgia by buying a mineral sands mine and a mineral separation facility (Southern Ionics Minerals, Offerman). A new mine at Jesup, Georgia, was started in 2020. Monazite is a co-product of this titanium mineral sands mining.
- Headquarters
- Wilmington, Delaware, United States
- Ownership
- Listed on NYSE (CC). Monazite activity sits inside the Titanium Technologies segment.
- Stage
- Mature. Rated on its monazite, the only rare earth product it makes: sold commercially to Energy Fuels since 2021 from its Georgia and Florida mineral sands, tonnage undisclosed. No rare earth processing plan appears in its filings or calls.
- Listing
- NYSE: CC
- Revenue
- US$5,808 million
Reported, FY2025 (year ended 31 Dec 2025).
Source
Capacity
Each date below links to the document the figure came from. A capacity figure with no source is not on this page.
| What | Figure | Status | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monazite, recovered as a co-product of titanium mineral sands mining and separated at the Offerman, Georgia mineral separation plant | not disclosed; the FY2025 annual report calls Chemours the only domestic producer of monazite and does not give tonnage | Operating | Feb 2026 |
| Monazite supply agreement with Energy Fuels (buyer's filing) | at least 2,500 tons/yr for three years from 2021; no renewal announced | Historical | Dec 2020 |
Narrative
Chemours, spun off from DuPont in 2015, mines titanium-bearing mineral sands in northeast Florida and southeast Georgia and separates the heavy minerals at Starke, Florida and at Offerman, Georgia. Monazite, the rare earth phosphate in those sands, is one of its co-products; the company's annual report for 2025 describes it as currently the only domestic producer of monazite, and groups monazite with zircon and staurolite as co-products that were under 5% of its Titanium Technologies sales. It does not disclose monazite tonnage, grade or price. Energy Fuels signed a three-year agreement in December 2020 to buy at least 2,500 tons a year from Offerman for its White Mesa mill and says it has bought Chemours monazite since 2021; no renewal has been announced, and a March 2025 strategic alliance between the two was announced without terms. In January 2026 Chemours idled a Florida mine, moved earth-moving to contractors and cut 54 of 142 mining jobs in Georgia (Atlanta Journal-Constitution), guiding first-quarter mineral sales sharply lower. No plan to crack or separate rare earths appears in its filings or earnings calls.
Where public sources disagree
- Energy Fuels' Chemours monazite volume differs by source. The Energy Fuels 8-K (14 Dec 2020) states a minimum of 2,500 tons per year for three years. Crux Investor (2026, secondary, no primary citation) says the current offtake agreement with Chemours supplies approximately 500 t (metric tons) of monazite per year from operations in Florida and Georgia (paraphrased). 500 is 20% of 2,500. The two figures may describe different contract periods; no primary source for the current volume was found.
- Status of the idled North Florida mine differs by source. Chemours CEO Denise Dignam (Q4 2025 call, 20 Feb 2026) described 'the temporary idling of one of our mines in North Florida.' WWALS Watershed Coalition, an advocacy group (14 Jan 2026), wrote that Maxville North 'appears to be closed' and that Amelia A near Jesup was 'mined out and closed for a year.' Chemours did not name the idled mine.
Latest reports
| Period | Published | Report |
|---|---|---|
| Q2 2026 (six months ended 30 Jun 2026) | 2026-08-05 | The Chemours Company Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026 (republished copy) |
| Q2 2026 | 2026-08-04 | The Chemours Company Reports Second Quarter Results |
| Q1 2026 | 2026-05-05 | The Chemours Company Reports First Quarter Results |
| FY2025 | 2026-02-24 | The Chemours Company Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 |
Across these reports
| Measure | What the reports show |
|---|---|
| capacity | Mining restructuring began in early Jan 2026. One North Florida mine was temporarily idled, and earth-moving moved to third-party contractors. WARN layoffs effective 6 Mar 2026: 54 of 142 Georgia workers (Nahunta 42, Jesup 10, Offerman plant 2) per AJC. In Florida, 19 at Maxville, 12 at the Starke site and 44 at Trail Ridge South per WWALS, citing the WARN notices. The contractor is Krebs Land Development (WWALS). The CFO guided Q1 2026 mineral sales 'down 60% sequentially, driven by sales timing and the impacts from the recent changes in mining efforts' (20 Feb 2026). |
| capacity | The 10-K says Chemours' mines 'currently supply less than 10% of our ore feedstock needs'. Co-products (zircon, staurolite, monazite) were under 5% of Titanium Technologies net sales in 2025. A Chemours spokesperson told AJC (2 Feb 2026) that existing Georgia and Florida mining locations can 'sustain operations well into the 2030s'. |
| study | No Chemours plan to crack, leach or separate rare earths was found in the FY2025 10-K, the Q4 2025 through Q2 2026 results releases, or the Q4 2025 and Q2 2026 call transcripts. Its stated role is 'advanced mineral separation' of heavy mineral sands, supplying monazite to a US processor. |
| cash | Q2 2026 net loss attributable to Chemours was $274M. Total stockholders' equity was $(49)M at 30 Jun 2026 (10-Q via Stock Titan). Management said on 5 Aug 2026 that 'no portfolio action is off the table' and that it is evaluating partnerships and asset sales. It did not name which businesses. |
Stated dates
| Target | First stated | Now | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| First monazite shipments to Energy Fuels | Q1 2021 (Energy Fuels 8-K, 14 Dec 2020) | Energy Fuels: 'Since 2021, Energy Fuels has purchased monazite concentrates from HMS mines owned by The Chemours Company in Florida and Georgia' (17 Apr 2025) | met |
| End of the three-year Energy Fuels supply term | Three years from Dec 2020, which puts the end around late 2023 or early 2024 (arithmetic; no end date was published) | Supply continues. Energy Fuels described an 'existing agreement' on 6 Aug 2026. No extension or renewal was announced by either party. | not yet due |
| Shift of Georgia and Florida earth-moving to mining contractors | WARN notices early Jan 2026; layoffs effective 6 Mar 2026 | CEO on 20 Feb 2026: 'we have commenced a restructuring of our mining in early January, including the temporary idling of one of our mines in North Florida' | met |
| Trail Ridge South (zircon, monazite, titanium) federal permitting under FAST-41 transparency | Added to FAST-41 transparency list 22 Aug 2025 | Performance.gov dashboard shows 4 of 4 environmental review and permitting processes complete; completion date 3 Apr 2026 | met |
Figures are as the company reported them, linked to each report. This summarizes what changed between reports; it is not a view on the company or its shares.
Sources
- The Chemours Company Completes Spin-Off from DuPont and Launches as an Independent, Publicly Traded Company — Chemours (2015-07-01)
- Chemours Form 10-K for FY2025 (investor-site PDF) — Chemours / SEC (2026-02-24)
- EDGAR filing index 0001193125-26-065201 (10-K, period 2025-12-31) — SEC (2026-02-24)
- The Chemours Company Reports Fourth Quarter and Full Year 2025 Results — Chemours (2026-02-19)
- The Chemours Company Reports Second Quarter Results — Chemours / PR Newswire (2026-08-04)
- Chemours posts Q2 2026 loss and negative equity | CC Quarterly Report (10-Q) — Stock Titan (secondary) (2026-08-05)
- Chemours (CC) Q4 2025 Earnings Call Transcript — The Motley Fool (secondary transcript) (2026-02-20)
- Chemours (CC) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript — The Motley Fool (secondary transcript) (2026-08-05)
- Chemical and materials giant cutting jobs at Georgia mining facilities — Atlanta Journal-Constitution (Drew Kann) (2026-02-02)
- Chemours closed some TiO2 mines, now lays off workers, outsources to contractor 2026-01-06 — WWALS Watershed Coalition (advocacy group; secondary) (2026-01-14)
- Energy Fuels Inc. Form 8-K (Chemours monazite supply agreement) — SEC / Energy Fuels (2020-12-14)
- Energy Fuels Set to Enter Commercial Rare Earth Business in Q1-2021 — Energy Fuels / PR Newswire (2020-12-14)
- Energy Fuels and Chemours Forming Strategic Alliance to Create a Domestic Supply Chain of Critical Minerals for the United States — Energy Fuels (2025-03-18)
- Chemours and Energy Fuels Forming Strategic Alliance (Chemours version) — Chemours (2025-03-18)
- Chemours, Energy Fuels partner to boost critical minerals supply chain — Supply Chain Dive (secondary) (2025-03)
- U.S.-Based Energy Fuels Poised to Produce Six of the Seven Rare Earth Oxides Now Subject to Chinese Export Controls at Scale — Energy Fuels (2025-04-17)
- Energy Fuels Announces Q2-2024 Results Including ... Commercial Rare Earth Separation — Energy Fuels (2024-08-02)
- U.S. Mined and Processed Rare Earths Successfully Manufactured into Permanent Magnets for Use in EVs and Hybrids — Energy Fuels (2025-09-09)
- Earnings call transcript: Energy Fuels Q2 2026 — Investing.com (secondary transcript) (2026-08-06)
- Energy Fuels' White Mesa Mill Produces First US Terbium Oxide in Decades — Crux Investor (secondary) (2026)
- Energy Fuels was initially... (UUUU Monazite 2025) — Hallgarten + Company (secondary) (2025-01-19)
- Trail Ridge South | Permitting Dashboard — Performance.gov (Federal Permitting Council) (2026-04)
- Permitting Council Adds Four New Critical Mineral Mining Projects to FAST-41 Transparency Status — Federal Permitting Council (2025-08-22)
- Chemours Begins Operation of Trail Ridge South Mineral Sand Mine in Florida — Chemours (2022-10-17)
- Southern Ionics Minerals Is Part of The Chemours Company — Chemours (n.d.)
- Wayne County Prospers | Chemours Facilities — Chemours (n.d.)
- About the Florida Mining Site — Chemours (n.d.)
- Kemp Welcomes Chemours to Wayne County as $86 Million Investment Creates 78 New Jobs — Office of the Governor of Georgia (2020-09-22)
- Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026: Rare Earths — USGS (2026-01)
How this page is sourced
Everything here comes from public sources — company filings, annual reports, exchange announcements, government releases and trade press. Every figure is linked to the document it came from and carries the date that document was published, because a capacity number without a date is not a fact, it is a rumor with a decimal point.
What is deliberately absent: material nonpublic information. I have spent more than two decades in this industry and a good deal of what I know about these companies I learned under NDA. Those obligations do not expire and they do not bend for a website. Nothing I have been told in confidence appears here in any form, and nothing on this page — or missing from it — should be read as a signal about what I know privately. I hold NDAs absolutely. It is the reason clients tell me things.
Judgment is the other thing left out on purpose. This page reports what has been published and who published it. Whether a target is credible, whether a ramp will hold, whether a capacity figure survives contact with the plant behind it — that is the work I do for clients, and it does not belong in a free reference page.
Where public sources disagree, I say so rather than picking a winner. Where a figure has not been published, the field says so rather than carrying an estimate. An empty field is information too.
Public filings tell you what a company has said. Whether it holds up is a different question, and the one I get hired to answer.
Get in touch← Back to Chemours (monazite) in the atlas · the full supply chain atlas