Skip to content
Peculiar Materials

Insights › Rare-earth magnet supply chain atlas › Bunting / Magnet Applications (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

United States

Bunting / Magnet Applications (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

A bonded rare earth magnet manufacturer. The DuBois plant presses compression bonded NdFeB and injection molds NdFeB, ferrite and hybrid magnets from powder, with tooling, coating and magnetization in-house. It does not sinter: the company's own sintered NdFeB page describes sourcing finished sintered product from suppliers in China and Japan, and its samarium cobalt offering is framed as engineered assemblies rather than manufacture. Bunting's larger magnetic separation, metal detection and conveying equipment business at Newton, Kansas and Redditch, England is a different business and is not part of the magnet supply chain mapped here.

At a glance

Founded
1959 — Bunting Magnetics Co. was founded in 1959 by Walter F. Bunting in Chicago, Illinois, and has remained family owned and family operated. The magnet-manufacturing arm came in 2008 with the acquisition of Magnet Applications Group Ltd. of Berkhamsted, England, whose US subsidiary Magnet Applications, Inc. operated the DuBois plant. Founding dates given for Magnet Applications itself conflict; see below.
Headquarters
DuBois, Pennsylvania, United States (12 Industrial Drive, DuBois, PA 15801). Group head office is Newton, Kansas; European head office for the magnet business is Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire, England.
Ownership
Private and unlisted. Bunting Magnetics Co. is family owned and family operated; Robert Bunting Jr. became president and chief executive in October 2022. No holding company, share structure or outside investor is named in any public source. Magnet Applications is a division and brand rather than a separate parent: the UK legal entity is Bunting Magnetics Europe Limited, company number 00790396, incorporated February 3, 1964 as Magnet Applications Limited and renamed January 3, 2012.
Revenue
Not publicly disclosed. This company does not publish revenue and no named third party has published an estimate of it.
Private and unlisted, with no revenue figure published by the company and none published by a named third party. Data aggregators carry modeled revenue bands for the DuBois site; they are not reported figures and at least one of them also states a founding year contradicted by every other source, so none is carried here. The one route to an audited number is the UK subsidiary: Bunting Magnetics Europe Limited, company number 00790396, files accounts at Companies House, most recently to December 31, 2024. Those cover the UK entity only, not the US group or the DuBois plant.

Capacity

Each date below links to the document the figure came from. A capacity figure with no source is not on this page.

WhatFigureStatusAs of
Compression bonded NdFeB magnets, DuBois, Pennsylvania — tooling, pressing, coating and magnetization in-houseno tonnage published. The company states that its custom machinery manufactures compression bonded magnets in-house, and describes complete in-house control from isotropic NdFeB powder sourcing to final magnetization and coating.OperatingSep 2026
Injection molded magnets, DuBois, Pennsylvania — NdFeB, ferrite and hybrid blends in nylon 6/12 and PPS binders, including insert molding and over-molding onto shafts and housingsno tonnage published. Engineering, tooling and production are stated to be located at DuBois.OperatingSep 2026
Cumulative bonded neodymium magnets produced, company statementone billion units to date, alongside more than 40 years of experience. This is a lifetime unit count, not an annual rate, and no mass per part is published, so it does not convert to a tonnage.OperatingSep 2026
US bonded NdFeB production, as identified by the Department of Commerceone of three firms producing bonded NdFeB magnets in the United States, with the Electrodyne Company and Tengam Engineering. The same report identifies only one US producer of sintered NdFeB magnets, Noveon, and describes that output as small in quantity.OperatingFeb 2023
Grain boundary diffusion, any siteno diffusion furnace, coating line or heat-treatment capability is described in any public source. A 2018 post from the UK side says the technology is being used by Bunting in the UK to produce a range of higher-performing grades, listed in a table; a 2024 post from DuBois describes the technology as industry-wide and uses a third party's process as its example. See the conflicts below.Announced2018-08-23

Narrative

Bunting Magnetics Co. was founded in Chicago in 1959 by Walter F. Bunting and remains family owned. Its magnet-manufacturing arm arrived in 2008 with the acquisition of Magnet Applications Group Ltd. of Berkhamsted, England, whose US subsidiary held the plant at DuBois, Pennsylvania; terms were not disclosed and the seller has never been named publicly. The Berkhamsted entity was renamed Bunting Magnetics Europe Limited in January 2012, and in recent years the magnet business has been consolidated under the Magnet Applications brand, with the former bunting-dubois.com and bunting-berkhamsted.com addresses now redirecting there. DuBois is the only site in the group that any public source shows forming magnets from powder. It presses compression bonded NdFeB and injection molds NdFeB, ferrite and hybrid blends, and the company describes tooling, pressing, coating and magnetization as in-house. Sintered NdFeB is sourced rather than made, from China and Japan by the company's own account, and the ex-China supply claim the company makes is scoped to the bonded products specifically. The Commerce Department's Section 232 report on NdFeB magnets names Bunting as one of three US producers of bonded NdFeB, alongside the Electrodyne Company and Tengam Engineering. Berkhamsted handles bespoke assemblies and industrial magnetizing equipment, with machining, testing and warehousing added at Swindon through the MagDev acquisition of October 2021. No capacity figure has been published for any of it. Bunting has not appeared in the 2025 and 2026 US magnet onshoring transactions, which have been sintered-magnet projects.

Where public sources disagree

Sources

  1. Manufacturing and capabilities — Magnet Applications / Bunting (2026-09)
  2. About — Magnet Applications / Bunting (2026-09)
  3. Injection molded magnets — Magnet Applications / Bunting (2026-09)
  4. Sintered neodymium iron boron — Magnet Applications / Bunting (2026-09)
  5. Section 232 investigation, NdFeB permanent magnets — report and appendices — US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Industry and Security (2023-02)
  6. Grain boundary diffusion of heavy rare earth elements in sintered NdFeB magnets — Magnet Applications / Bunting DuBois (2024-07-16)
  7. Bunting Magnetics Co. to celebrate 60th anniversary — Bunting Magnetics Co. (2019-07-23)
  8. Robert Bunting appointed Bunting president and CEO — Bunting Magnetics Co. (2022-10-13)
  9. Bunting acquires MagDev — Bunting Magnetics Co. (2021-10-14)
  10. Bunting Magnetics Europe Limited, company number 00790396 — Companies House, United Kingdom (2026-09)

How this page is sourced

Everything here comes from public sources — company filings, annual reports, exchange announcements, government releases and trade press. Every figure is linked to the document it came from and carries the date that document was published, because a capacity number without a date is not a fact, it is a rumor with a decimal point.

What is deliberately absent: material nonpublic information. I have spent more than two decades in this industry and a good deal of what I know about these companies I learned under NDA. Those obligations do not expire and they do not bend for a website. Nothing I have been told in confidence appears here in any form, and nothing on this page — or missing from it — should be read as a signal about what I know privately. I hold NDAs absolutely. It is the reason clients tell me things.

Judgment is the other thing left out on purpose. This page reports what has been published and who published it. Whether a target is credible, whether a ramp will hold, whether a capacity figure survives contact with the plant behind it — that is the work I do for clients, and it does not belong in a free reference page.

Where public sources disagree, I say so rather than picking a winner. Where a figure has not been published, the field says so rather than carrying an estimate. An empty field is information too.

Public filings tell you what a company has said. Whether it holds up is a different question, and the one I get hired to answer.

Get in touch